Your new design will be uploaded in:
Please contact Delivery Team on
0113 3200 750 if you have any queries.

Colston's Primary School A Co-operative Academy

Celebrating Diversity, Learning Together

Dear Parents, Carers, local community members and alumni

Help choose our new school name by inputting via this consultation survey by midnight Friday 16th March. Thank you.

School Name Decision Result

Release date: 1/12/17. Embargoed until 19.30.

Colston’s Primary School, 18 Cotham Grove, Bristol BS6 6AL

Tel: 01173772610


Colston’s Primary School Name To Change

Following an extensive consultation involving pupils, parents and carers, staff, the alumni and the local community, Colston’s Primary School’s Board of Governors has voted to change the name of the school. 

Kate Swainson Price, Chair of Governors, said: “After an open and honest debate across our school community, governors voted in line with the majority vote by stakeholders who participated in the consultation and will now look at choosing a new name for September 2018.”

The governors would like to thank everybody who engaged with the school name consultation process. It was very helpful in informing the board’s final decision. The rich range of comments and arguments for and against were illuminating and thought provoking, and provided governors with a good sense of the variety of feeling and opinion within the school community.

The whole consultation, comprising survey, events, and debates facilitated for the children by the teachers, has made for an open, honest and civilised cross community conversation. The governors agreed this has been very healthy for our school, characterised as ever, by inclusivity and respect: an embodiment of our school motto: ‘celebrating diversity, learning together’.

Governors take a supportive stance towards the whole school community as always, and look forward to moving forward together.

Alex Bell, head teacher said: “The school’s rich past as ‘Colston’s Primary’ will not be erased but celebrated via a timeline project currently in development as part of our 70th anniversary activities this year. Children will be exploring the school’s history and heritage further, and ex-pupils and staff from the school are invited to share memories of their time at Colston’s Primary School in person or via our digital timeline due to be launched in January 2018”


About Colston’s Primary: Colston’s Primary School is a co-operative academy in the Redland/Cotham area of Bristol providing education for 520 children. It’s latest Ofsted report, a short inspection in September 2017 judged ‘This school continues to be good’ since its previous inspection in 2014. It went on to highlight “The school’s motto of ‘Celebrating Diversity, Learning Together’ threads through all aspects of school life … Colston’s Primary is an inclusive school where pupils’ cultural diversity is a strength of the school’s distinctive character.”

For media inquiries please contact:  Kate Swainson Price – Tel 0117 377 2610 and email:

Governors Decision and Rationale and Consultation Outcomes Report follow below: 

Hilary Mantel (historian and author) analyses how historical fiction can make the past come to life. She says her task is to take history out of the archive and relocate it in a body.

Sue Lawley: "What do you think of the fact that Colston Hall is no longer going to be called the Colston Hall because Colston made his money out of slavery?

Hilary Mantel “I actually think there is no principle you can apply here - you do have to look at these things on a case by case basis …but I think the fact that the debate arises is a really healthy one … People are understanding that the past really matters … we are not separate from history, it’s not an exam we pass, it’s something we are in, and we are not just rationally involved, but emotionally involved in the past and its legacy”

Radio 4: Reith Lecture July 4th 2017

School Name Review: A Consultation

Should Colston's Primary School keep its name or has the time come for a change?

Please help us to confirm our school's identity as we approach its 70th Birthday by taking part in our consultation starting this term and continuing until the end of Term 1 2017/18.
This is a very important decision for our school, so please do have a careful think about it, engage in the consultation pages here, attend one of the consultation events scheduled between Monday 19th and Friday 30th June, and complete the accompanying feedback survey (this will be available at consultation meetings, and published online from 3rd July until the end of Term 1, Friday 21st October 2017.)
Background and rationale leading to this consultation, in brief (further details to be found here):

The name of our school has been in question to varying degrees ever since it was established as a state primary school in 1947. Just before this, from 1941 to 1947 the Cotham Grove houses were home to the juniors of Colston's Girls' school. This was because part of their main Cheltenham Road site had been damaged in the war and therefore no longer usable.

After the Education Act in 1944, Colston's Girls' School became an 11+ grammar school and the junior school closed. The site was then taken over by Bristol City Council for use as a state funded Local Education Authority Primary School. There were discussions at the time over an appropriate name for this new school. Some felt a different name should be chosen. The governors of Colston's Girls' School agreed that the new state primary school could use the name Colston on condition that the school remain at the Cotham Grove address.

The name has been reviewed by the school's governing bodies at various intervals during its history since 1947. More recently, it was discussed at the time when it became a co-operative academy in 2012, with a decision to keep the name while monitoring the children's education around Edward Colston. It was then raised in 2015, and a proposal was made that a governor and a member of staff lead on work around the name in terms of curriculum and consultation. A new head and governing body have been settling in since then, mindful that a name review is on the agenda. Having undertaken a vision and values project this year 2016/17 and received a formal request for consultation over the school name from the Co-op Forum in May 2017, governors are delighted to be in a position to roll this out now.

We have designed a comprehensive consultation including events and lots of information and leads to digest on in relation to the main question. 
We very much look forward to hearing everybody's views on this - pupils, staff and the wider community - and coming to a final view at the end of term 1 2017/18.
School Name Survey

A consultation survey will be available from Monday 3rd July, once the consultation events have happened, both online and as hard copies and will be kept open until Friday 21st October 2017.

You will also be given the option of completing the survey at the end of any of the consultation events you attend.

Paper copies will also be available at the office and computers can be made available at school for anyone who would like to complete the survey online at school.

How can you make your view known?

  1. Pupils: you will have your say via a co-operative Wow! event on July 13th, - Mr Jarman (senior) is your go to man for information about this. As part of this you can complete a survey (specially tailored for children and young people)

  2. Parents/Carers/Staff/Wider community: Come to a consultation event to find out more and have your say

  3. All: Complete the school name consultation survey as outlined above - online or on a paper copy

  4. Co-op Members: Be in touch with your co-op reps to see how your member view can impact the debate (if you would like to become a Co-operative Member, come to a consultation meeting and/or email

How will the final decision be made?

Feedback from the following will be collated and considered by governors:

  • the pupils' survey
  • consultation events
  • the co-operative forum reps summary representations for pupils, staff, parents and the wider community to governors
  • the school name consultation survey

3rd November 2017Two governors outside of the school name sub-committee have been selected to analyse data from the collated survey and consultation events feedback and will be present this to the governors school name sub-committee. Learners Forum reps will present the overall children's results.

20th November at 6pmAll governors will meet at an Extraordinary Full Governing Body to vote in the final decision using the overall consultation results as guidance.

1st Dec: Shortly after this, the final decision and resultant plans will be delivered to the school community.


Whatever the outcome, the school will celebrate the final decision over the school name as part of its 70th Birthday activities planned for 2017/18.

For further details and how to get involved, please visit the following pages.

 Why review the school name now?

How can I find out more to inform my view?

Are there any meetings or events where I can find out more and have my say? Yes there are ...


Back to the top